I'm not usually the person who gets worked up about the casting for movies but the recent news today about who is playing the lead romantic interests in the Hunger Games films just had my blood boiling.
Peeta, my beautiful and caring Peeta. I'm sorry that they casted Josh Hutcherson to play you. I don't hate Josh, no not at all. I even had like, a tiny-okay sort of big crush on him when Journey came out, but he is just not right for the role. My ideal Peeta was Hunter Parrish who would have been perfect. If you watch Weeds than you'll know he can play a guy like Peeta, not that Peeta is a drug dealer. Oh, you know what I mean.
Don't even get me started on LIAM HEMSWHATEVER as GALE SEXY HAWTHORNE. HOW IS THIS EVEN- I CAN'T-WHAT, I AM IN DISBELIEF. This is the worse casting ever. Liam is neither hot or mysterious. How can you even think that Liam can play Gale, I don't even. Not only that but his acting is so awful. He is back with Miley so they probably just want her huge fanbase to watch the movie.
Like seriously, how does the two main guys somehow manage to start dating the two young actresses that are always on the tabloid. Publicity much? Vanessa Hudgens and Miley Cyrus. Are you kidding me right now? Next thing you know Jennifer dumps Nicolas Hoult for Justin Bieber, one of the Jonas Brothers, or like, JAMES FRANCO. I could see it now. How is it possible that The Hunger Game has a shittier cast than the Twilight series? Is this a joke. Please tell me it's a late April Fools joke. I bet the make up will be as horrid as Twilight too. Especially Josh with blonde hair and blue eyes? Ugh.
Waiting for the reboot. Maybe someone who actually cares about the books will direct it and cast amazing actors. By then I'll probably be 50 by then and so my future kids would have something good to watch. Hopefully.